Recommendations: Short, Sweet, and Feminist

Reading isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, maybe you’re feeling overwhelmed by the sheer size of some of these non-fiction books, or just don’t have the time to fit reading in. I can relate: during my studies I was always so focused on my research and required reading that I just couldn’t bring myself to open more books. Or maybe you find reading difficult, unenjoyable, or are just really daunted by some of these heavy, complex books.

Don’t fret – I’ve got you covered!

Here are four short books that I really enjoyed. Sometimes it’s hard to commit straight off the bat to a 300 page text, and you’re not sure what you’re getting yourself into. These books are perfect to gain a little snapshot into the world of feminist writing, giving you the chance to dip your toes into the water and see what interests you.

  • ‘We Should All Be Feminists’ by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • ‘Men Explain Things to Me’ by Rebecca Solnit
  • ‘Women & Power: A Manifesto’ by Mary Beard
  • ‘Feminism for the 99%’ by Cinzia Arruzza, Tithi Bjattacharya and Nancy Fraser

Enjoy and Happy Reading, folks!

Leave a comment